Yoga Philosophy – A Fundamental Information Into the Yamas and Niyamas For Yoga Newbies


If you have been training yoga for a when you will shortly realise that beneath all the actual physical poses and workouts, lies yet another layer of yoga that underpins your observe.

Recognised as yoga philosophy or The 8 Limbs of Yoga, this facet of yoga provides you with crystal clear suggestions on how to are living a balanced and wholesome lifestyle, as properly as insights into the workings of your brain.
Most yoga learners, specially those people in the West are knowledgeable of the yoga routines or asanas and pranayama, respiratory workouts. Having said that, did you know that asanas and pranayama are an integral element of Hatha and Raja Yoga?

Hatha Yoga refers to the actual physical postures and pranayama while Raja Yoga explores in a lot more depth the spiritual head-body relationship. Hatha and Raja Yoga are far more frequently recognized as the 8 Limbs of Yoga and form the second chapter of the Yoga Sutras.

The Eight Limbs of Yoga kind the ethical and philosophical foundation of your yoga observe. In accordance to Patanajali, in his Yoga Sutras, yoga is made up of eight limbs which he referred to as Ashtanga Yoga. Each limb has its personal id nevertheless still sorts component of the complete program identified as yoga.

The Eight Limbs or Ways of Yoga are:

1.Yama (a established of social codes for communal moral dwelling)
2.Niyama (recommendations for personalized perform and behaviour)
3.Asana (yoga postures)
4.Pranayama (breath management)
5.Pratyahara (withdrawal and handle of the senses)
6.Dharana (focus)
7.Dhyana (meditation)
8.Samadhi (enlightenment, self-realisation)

In addition, the Yamas and Niyamas are even more broken down into 5 certain recommendations which give comprehensive explanations to guide you through your yoga journey, which are as follows:-

Yama. The Yamas offer with common social and ethical observations and established out pointers to persuade common optimistic behaviours. The Yamas are:

1. Ahimsa – Compassion and non-violence towards all beings, which includes animals.
2. Satya – truthfulness, talking your real truth in views, phrases and behaviour. Mainly remaining genuine and form.
3. Asteya – Non-stealing and becoming generous with your feelings and steps.
4. Brahmacharya – Self restraint, normally Brahmacharya refers to restraint of the sexual vitality, nevertheless in its broadest sense, Brahmacharya indicates self-discipline and moderation in all regions of everyday living.
5. Aparigraha – Non-possessiveness and non-greed. The capacity to share and to have independence from need. For instance, not to get bribes or unasked for items.

The Niyamas are extra personalized observations and relate to actions which you, as an particular person are inspired to do. The 5 Niyamas are:

1. Shauca – Cleanliness, holding by yourself and rapid atmosphere clear and tidy.
2. Samtosha – Contentment, getting content and accepting of your rapid situation the perfect behind Samtosha is to make it possible for on your own to be satisfied and appreciate all the blessings and tribulations in your existence, nevertheless at the very same time to strive in the direction of religious enlightenment.
3. Tapas – Relates to self-discipline the capability to continue to be concentrated and perhaps go without selected belongings in buy to grow, acquire and care for by yourself and some others,.e.g. Tapas could relate to a boy or girl providing up sweets for a time period of time and providing that funds rather to a local charitable bring about.
4. Svadhyaya – self study and observation of your feelings, text and steps. It incorporates regular non secular discussions and researching spiritual, philosophical literature in buy to gain a richer being familiar with of existence. It features the skill to be reflective and introspective so that you get to know by yourself on a deeper degree, which aids to make clarity in your thoughts and behaviours. The a lot more you know by yourself the a lot easier it is for you to converse overtly and truthfully your wishes.
5. Ishvarapranidhana – Refers to devotion to God. To continually be mindful of the sacredness of everyday living and to keep reverence for all currently being.

As you can see the Yamas and Niyams offer you you a set of really considered of social and own suggestions to take into account as you dwell your life. Yoga is about harmony, striving to acquire self-realization even though accepting that at any one time you are offering your best and performing your best.

Love the journey. If you wish to talk about or come across out far more about how suitable the Yamas and Niyamas are to you everyday living, please come to feel free to contact us.


Articles You Might Like

Share This Article